March 3, 2020


 

" A beautiful book in so many ways. Like Shira’s imaginary bird, Jennifer Rosner’s prose is lilting and musical, yet her tale of war’s grave personal reality is gripping, heartrending, and so very real.”"

Lisa Wingate, author of Before We Were Yours and Before and After

        

About the Book

In Poland, as World War II rages, a mother hides with her young daughter, a musical prodigy whose slightest sound may cost them their lives.

As Nazi soldiers round up the Jews in their town, Róza and her 5-year-old daughter,...

February 24, 2020

Cybil is a war child—the result of a brief affair between a young Japanese woman and a French soldier—who at a young age is transplanted to Tucson, Arizona, and raised by an American officer and his rigid wife. After a rebellious adolescence, she grows up to become a successful ob-gyn. Chloe, Cybil’s daughter, is adrift in an empty house in the hills of Virginia. Her marriage has fallen apart, and her estranged husband is dying of cancer. Room by room, Chloe makes her new house into a home, grappling always with the real and im...

February 20, 2020

In a family devoted to hiding the truth, Fremont learns the truth is the one thing that can set you free. Scorching, witty, and ultimately redemptive, The Escape Artist is a powerful contribution to the memoir shelf. In the tradition of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or George Hodgman’s Bettyville, Fremont writes with wit and candor about growing up in a household held together by a powerful glue: secrets. Her parents, profoundly affected by their memories of the Holocaust, pass on, to both Helen and her older sister, a penchant for ke...

February 7, 2020

In this remarkably moving memoir Ariana Neumann dives into the secrets of her father’s past: years spent hiding in plain sight in war-torn Berlin, the annihilation of dozens of family members in the Holocaust, and the courageous choice to build anew. In 1941, the first Neumann family member was taken by the Nazis, arrested in German-occupied Czechoslovakia for bathing in a stretch of river forbidden to Jews. He was transported to Auschwitz. Eighteen days later his prisoner number was entered into the morgue book.

July 14, 2019

The Piano Tuner’s Daughter: My Best Friend by Ingrid Silvian. " A stirring story about two girls, one Jewish and one Christian, torn apart during World War II." — TheBookWalker This is the story Ingrid’s mother needed her grand piano tuned, and she asked the piano tuner for his help. The piano tuner brought along his daughter, Sonia, and Sonia met Ingrid. Since then, the girls became best friends. Sonia and Ingrid spent many times playing hide-and-seek in the massive basement that Sonia’s father converted to a worksh...

Please reload

TRENDING BOOKS
The UnHoneymooners by Christina Lauren.j
The Whisper Man_A Novel by Alex North_Th
Whiskey in a Teacup_What Growing Up in t
Leadership_ In Turbulent Times Doris Kea
Search By Topics
TRENDING BOOKS
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
NEWS!
& Everything Literary
London Book Fair 2020