Book Talk: A Constellation of Roses by Miranda Asebedo

January 3, 2020


Perfect for fans of Tell Me Three Things and The Astonishing Color of After, A Constellation of Roses is brimming with a magic all its own—lovable and flawed characters, an evocative setting, and friendships to treasure.

 

 

 

 

         

 

About the Book

 

“Ever since her troubled mother abandoned her, Trix McCabe has preferred to stay on the move.

 

 

But when she lands with her long-lost relatives, she finds out that the McCabe women have talents like her own that defy explanation: pies that cure all ills, palm-reading that never misses the mark, knowledge of secrets that have never been told.

 

 

Before long, Trix feels like she might finally have found somewhere she belongs. But when her past comes back to haunt her, she’ll have to decide whether to take a chance on this new life . . . or keep running from the one she’s always known.

 

 

More magic awaits in the stunning companion novel, The Deepest Roots, which Booklist called “a must-read” in a starred review!

 

 

 

Reviews and What Readers Say

 

“I got this through NetGalley to review. I really loved this book. I did not realize that this is a companion novel to “The Deepest Roots”, however this book stands alone very well on its own. It was sweet and thought-provoking and had some magical realism as well. It's an excellent coming of age story and has some wonderful themes about friendship and family.Trix McCabe is struggling to survive on her own after her mother abandons her. She is dodging social services and making a living via her uncanny ability to steal things and not get caught. Then someone turns her in and social services is involved again, this time they place her with her Aunt...family she didn’t even know she had. As Trix starts to try and make a living with the McCabe family she learns secrets about her past and realizes that this may be just the fresh start she needs to turn things around.I really loved this story, it grabbed me right from the beginning and was impossible to put down. It was weird how similar this book was to “Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe” which I just finished the week before I read this. Both books have magic pie, a small town setting, and themes of family, friendship, love, and overcoming hardship.This book is humorous, heartbreaking, and hopeful all at the same time. Trix is a smart girl with a tough past and she is really trying to make her new situation work but old habits die hard. My heart broke for her over and over. I enjoyed watching Trix put everything back together in her life and also enjoyed the small elements of magical realism throughout the story.There is a lot about friendship, family, coming of age, and getting over a tough past in this book. The book is beautifully written and very hard to put down.Overall I really loved this book and plan on going back to pick up Asebedo’s first novel as well. I would recommend to those who enjoy coming of age type contemporary fiction with some elements of magical realism.”
Karissa Eckert, VINE VOICE, Amazon Readers Review



“ A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her way on her own for the last six months since she ran away from a bad group home. Her mother is an addict who had been unreliable all Trix's life before eventually walking out and never coming back. Trix survives by stealing, something for which she has an uncanny ability. When she is found by the police and case worker, she is given an ultimatum- either be tried as an adult for theft or go live with a relative she has never heard of and graduate from high school.Trix takes the deal, but everything in her still says to run. It turns out that the father she never met had a sister who also has a daughter, about her age. Trix is filled with questions, especially since it seems all the McCabe women have a special gift.With a magical realism slant, this is a fantastic story about emotional healing and accepting love (from family). A few of the minor themes like depression/suicide add some strong messages that I appreciated being included. The characters are all so beautifully crafted, and I fell in love with all of them. Auntie was hilarious, Mia was so kind and amazing, Trix is incredible, and then there's Jasper and Ember and I just loved it all.I highly recommend picking up this book- it's absolutely fantastic and so heartfelt. This was such a beautiful journey, and I really loved every second. Please note that I received an ARC. All opinions are my own.
―Olivia F., Amazon Readers Review

 


“ A Constellation of Roses is a story about being guarded. Being vulnerable and afraid of getting hurt. It's a story of running away, making the choice to stay, and to hold our family close. Trix is the definition of guarded and she's used to stealing to get by. Everyone Trix has ever counted on has left her. Theft is her way of life and so things freely given, especially kindness, don't make sense to her. But when her life takes a drastic turn and she finds herself with a family she never knew, Trix is going to have to decide if she wants to make the choice to stay.What would it be finally like to have a home? Can we really ever change our behaviors? When the world has taught us to never rely on tomorrow, support, or love, can we open up our heart to new possibilities? We have whole relationships as question marks, blank pages, or scrapbooks of pieced together memories. On one hand her relationship with her mother is complex. Full of bright moments, but also marred with responsibility and abandonment. Whereas her father is a blank page, someone she can only begin to know through the fragments of torn memories" 
— 
Utopia State of Mind, Amazon Readers Review

 

“ My initial thought going into A Constellation of Roses was that I will read anything set around small towns and pie baking. This novel was so much more than that. It was raw, emotional, and beautiful. The main character Trix is tossed around from foster home to foster home... Until she eventually ends up running away on her own. Only to be caught and then having to move in with her long lost aunt whom she has never met.Her aunt owns a small pie diner in the small town that she is from. The whole town believes the pies to have magical qualities to them. At first, Trix is not convinced. However, all the women in their family are said to have special magic talents. The story sets around her eccentric new family and I absolutely adored every minute of this book. It was the exact story that I had been needing to read.The way Trix's new family embraced her into their lives made me all fuzzy inside. Trix never had stability growing up with a drug addict mother. It was wonderful to see how easily she was embraced within the family.My favorite character by far was the eccentric Auntie. Her random thoughts and outspokenness made the novel 100% better. I wish all the characters were as brutally honest as her. I loved reading about all the different characters within the small town and hearing all the town gossip. I love any novel set in a small town for that very reason. It became very relatable and drew me in instantly. The story is all about belonging and is told beautifully.I loved the writing style and how the author drew me in from the very first page. I have to check out some of her other books because I loved this one so much. A Constellation of Roses is about bringing your walls down and inviting others in. Definitely, one of my favorite books that I have read this year. I love love this book!"
— 
Emily Nicholas, Amazon Readers Review

 

 

 

 

A Constellation of Roses by Miranda Asebedo

336 pages

ISBN 978-0062747105

 

 

Note: To order, please click here

 

 

Miranda Asebedo lives on the prairie with her husband, two kids, and two majestic bulldogs named Princess Jellybean and Captain Jack. She is the author of The Deepest Roots and A Constellation of Roses, and she can be found online at www.mirandaasebedo.com

 

 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Who We Are
Recommended Read

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor

Books To Give For Christmas

Leadership Books

Children's Books

Search By Topics

For submissions and inquiries: info@thebookwalker.com | 1-877-273-7003

© 2020 .The Book Walker. We Walk Your Book .  All Rights Reserved.