Book Talk: Faye, Faraway by Helen Fisher

“ [An] enchanting debut... Fisher's achingly authentic characters leap off the page and capture readers' hearts. This addictive, emotionally heavy page-turner marks a delightful spin on the time travel genre.”—Publishers Weekly

A heartfelt, spellbinding, and irresistible debut novel for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and Outlander that movingly examines loss, faith, and love as it follows a grown woman who travels back in time to be reunited with the mother she lost when she was a child.


About the Book


Faye is a thirty-seven-year-old happily married mother of two young daughters. Every night, before she puts them to bed, she whispers to them: "You are good, you are kind, you are clever, you are funny." She's determined that they never doubt for a minute that their mother loves them unconditionally. After all, her own mother Jeanie had died when she was only seven years old and Faye has never gotten over that intense pain of losing her.


But one day, her life is turned upside down when she finds herself in 1977, the year before her mother died. Suddenly, she has the chance to reconnect with her long-lost mother, and even meets her own younger self, a little girl she can barely remember. Jeanie doesn't recognize Faye as her daughter, of course, even though there is something eerily familiar about her.


As the two women become close friends, they share many secrets--but Faye is terrified of revealing the truth about her identity. Will it prevent her from returning to her own time and her beloved husband and daughters? What if she's doomed to remain in the past forever?


Faye knows that eventually she will have to choose between those she loves in the past and those she loves in the here and now, and that knowledge presents her with an impossible choice.


Emotionally gripping and ineffably sweet Faye, Faraway is a brilliant exploration of the grief associated with unimaginable loss and the magic of being healed by love.

Reviews & What Readers Say

Readers interested in pondering the basis of faith will find much to contemplate in this story."

Kirkus Reviews

“A lovely, deeply moving story of loss and love and memory made real. The sort of book that makes you feel the tenderness of joy restored, and the tearing pain of a choice between the two halves of your heart.”

Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander

“Charming and powerful, Faye, Faraway captures the longing we all share to see once again those we have lost and to transcend time and space to answer the questions we wish we'd asked. The dual speed of time, the need to choose between past and present, and the importance of lightening the burden for those we encounter are explored with good humor, an acute sense of nostalgia, and compassion. An uplifting and healing read.”

Marjan Kamali, author of The Stationery Shop


Faye, Faraway by Helen Fisher

Viking

304 pages

ISBN 978-1982142674

Note: Now available. Click here

Helen Fisher spent her early life in America but grew up mainly in Suffolk, England, where she now lives with her two children. She studied psychology at Westminster University and ergonomics at University College London, and worked as a senior evaluator in research at the Royal National Institute of Blind People. Faye, Faraway is her first novel.

Who We Are
Assemble your Team
Search By Topics

For submissions and inquiries: info@thebookwalker.com | 1-877-273-7003

© 2021 .The Book Walker. We Walk Your Book .  All Rights Reserved.