Book Talk:Super Host by Kate Russo`

“ In Russo’s charming and poignant debut…the author writes with warm sympathy and humor. A treat for fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta.”—Kirkus Reviews

The BookWalker

A deeply funny and shrewdly observed debut novel about being lost in the very place you know by heart.

About the Book

Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize-nominated artist who was once a rising star. Now, at age fifty-five, his wife has left him, he hasn't sold a painting in two years, and his gallery wants to stop selling his work, claiming they'll have more value retrospectively...when he's dead. So, left with a large West London home and no income, he's forced to move into his artist's studio in the back garden and list his house on the popular vacation rental site, AirBed.


A stranger now in his own home, with his daughter, Mia, off at art school, and any new relationships fizzling out at best, Bennett struggles to find purpose in his day-to-day. That all changes when three different guests--lonely American Alicia; tortured artist Emma; and cautiously optimistic divorcée Kirstie--unwittingly unlock the pieces of himself that have been lost to him for too long.


Warm, witty, and utterly humane, Super Host offers a captivating portrait of middle age, relationships, and what it truly means to take a new chance at life.

Reviews & What Readers Say

This is the compulsively readable story of Bennett, a once-famous artist now divorced and impoverished, who lives in his garden studio and spies on his tenants through the windows. Super Host is hilarious, and touching, too; Kate Russo is a terrific storyteller."

Claire Messud

“Kate Russo’s debut Super Host is pure delight—smart, fun, poignant, and deeply satisfying. I loved it.”

Lily King

A painter herself, Russo makes the act of creating art come alive, while effectively limning her characters in this incisive study of contemporary life.

Library Journal


Nobody Ever Asked Me about the Girls: Women, Music and Fame

Super Host by Kate Russo

G.P. Putnam's Sons

368 pages

ISBN 978-0593187708

Note: Now available. Click here

Kate Russo grew up in Maine but now divides her time between there and the United Kingdom. She has an MFA in painting from the Slade School of Fine Art, and exhibits in both the UK and the US.

Who We Are
Assemble your Team
Webcam pc screen view during group video
Search By Topics