All About Books & More

Find Your Story
Shadows of Pecan Hollow by Caroline Frost_The BookWalker

Share this article

Shadows of Pecan Hollow: A Novel by Caroline Frost

Set in 1970-'90s Texas, a mesmerizing story about a fierce woman and the partner in crime she can’t escape, perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and Valentine.
Review
4.6/5

Must read

About the Book

It was 1970 when 13-year-old runaway Kit Walker was abducted by Manny Romero, a smooth-talking, low-level criminal, who first coddled her and then groomed her into his partner in crime. Before long, Kit and Manny were infamous for their string of gas-station robberies throughout Texas, making a name for themselves as the Texaco Twosome.

Twenty years after they meet, Kit has scraped together a life for herself and her daughter among the pecan trees and muddy creeks of the town of Pecan Hollow, far from Manny. 

But when he shows up at her doorstep a new man, fresh out of prison, Kit is forced to reckon with the shadows of her past, and her community is sent into a tailspin. 

This gritty, penetrating, and unexpectedly tender novel ensnares the listener in its story of resilience and bonds that define us. 

With its rich rural landscape, indelible characters, and striking regional language, Shadows of Pecan Hollow is a hauntingly intimate and distinctly original debut about the complexity of love—both romantic and familial—and the strength and vulnerability of womanhood.

 

Recommended by The Washington Post!

 

Paper Moon meets Badlands in this mesmerizing Texas backroads thriller, a twisty story of a runaway girl who finds a home and a desperate love on the road with an opportunistic criminal…told in a gritty, sensual prose.”—Janet Fitch, #1 New York Times bestselling author of White Oleander

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Caroline Frost_The BookWalker

Caroline Frost has a Master of Professional Writing from the University of Southern California and is a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. Although she currently resides in California with her husband and three young children, her roots in Texas run deep. Shadows of Pecan Hollow is her first novel.

The author does a bang-up job…creating the perfect storm of circumstancesPublishers Weekly

Write a Review

Let other readers know what you think of the book.

Love it?

Please click to vote

Global Ratings 4.6 / 5. Vote(s): 43

Please rate

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Need help With [ A ] Book?

MORE THAN A DECADE CONNECTING BOOKS TO READERS & RETAILERS
The BookWalker_Blog_History
Scroll to Top

Hi There!

Please enter your details to sign up for: The BookWalker Monthly Newsletter. Get access to book recommendations, writing & publishing tips, webinars, author events and everything literary.

Hi Page Turner,

Get access to book recommendations, writing & publishing tips, webinars, author events and everything literary.